top of page

Winning Business Women Revealed

Women Business Leaders from across Scotland were recognised in front of a sell-out audience at Women’s Enterprise Scotland Awards 2022 on 27 October.

Held for the first time since 2019, the glittering Awards ceremony took place at Glasgow’s voco Grand Central Hotel, with established and emerging business leaders being celebrated in ten categories.

Women awards winners
WES Awards Winners 2022

In notable highlights, Greenock based Poonam Gupta of PG Paper Company took the coveted Inspiring Leader 2022 Award whilst ScotlandShop, founded by Anna White, was named Growth Business of the Year.

Ergo Law, co-founded by Emma Reid along with Cathy Donald, took the award for Outstanding Business of the Year whilst Wishaw based Beauty Kitchen picked up the Net Zero Award. Radiant and Brighter, founded by Pheona Matovu, was named Purpose Led Business of the Year. First Minister Nicola Sturgeon MSP presented Evelyn Mcdonald, CEO of Scottish Edge, with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

A total of £1,825 was raised on the night for the awards charity partner - The Women's Fund.

Four women smiling at awards events
Carolyn Currie, Nicola Sturgeon, Lynne Cadenhead, Evelyn McDonald

Carolyn Currie, CEO of Women’s Enterprise Scotland, commented,

“My heartfelt congratulations go to all the finalists and winners at last night’s awards. Businesses across Scotland have faced unprecedented pressures over the past two years and despite the additional challenges faced by women-owned businesses, the Women’s Enterprise Scotland Awards have showcased how women business leaders have stepped up to play their role in our country’s diverse, innovative and adaptable business ecosystem. These business leaders are the visible role models who will inspire the next generation of women and girls coming through, collectively helping us to consign Scotland’s persistent gender gap in enterprise to history.”

Nicola Sturgeon MSP, First Minister of Scotland said:

“The past couple of years have been exceptionally tough for businesses across Scotland, but the calibre of all of last night’s finalists and winners shows the real impact Scotland’s women entrepreneurs are making across a range of sectors.”

She continued;

“These awards highlight the major role of Scotland’s businesswomen in driving our economy forward, with valued support from Women’s Enterprise Scotland. I was delighted to be able to present a Lifetime Achievement Award to Evelyn McDonald, CEO of Scottish Edge, last night, for the tremendous contribution she has made to support the next generation of women in business.”

The Awards were sponsored by Scottish Enterprise, Royal Bank of Scotland, HFL Holistic Financial Leadership, Business Gateway and the British Business Bank.


Start-up Business of the Year, sponsored by Business Gateway

Agate Kuzmina AKCC Co Ltd

Daria Filichkina AstroAgency

Tiffany Wood Dyneval (WINNER)

Clara Doran Noggin

Sophie Downes Sophie Downes

Growth Business of the Year, sponsored by Royal Bank of Scotland

Lesley Fordyce AAB Consulting

Claire Donnelly Aspire Industrial Services


Poonam Gupta PG Paper Company Ltd

Anna White ScotlandShop (WINNER)

Outstanding Business of the Year, sponsored by HFL Holistic Financial Leadership

Karen Somerville Angels’ Share Glass

Emma Reid Ergo Law Ltd (WINNER)

Jennifer Mackenzie The TEFL Org

Jennifer Robertson SPEY

Inspiring Leader of the Year

Rachael Brown Future Economy Company

Allison Harrison Hot Yoga Edinburgh Limited

Dr Poonam Gupta OBE PG Paper Company Ltd (WINNER)

Dr Marie Macklin CBE The Halo Urban Regeneration Company

Gillian Crawford Lily Blanche

Funded Business of the Year, sponsored by British Business Bank

Jo Chidley Beauty Kitchen UK Ltd

Claudia Freigang Hearing Diagnostics Ltd (WINNER)

Carmel Reilly Neurocentrx Pharma Ltd

Jo Halliday Talking Medicines Ltd

Adaptive Business of the Year

Rachel Brown Future Economy Scotland

Allison Harrison Hot Yoga Edinburgh Ltd (WINNER)

Juliet Ibhanesebhor Sap-kreations Ltd

Anna White ScotlandShop

Ruby Sweeney The Events Hub

Susan Cohen The Wee Book Company

Embracing Technology Business of the Year, sponsored by HFL Holistic Financial Leadership

Lesley Landels Love Scottish

Fiona Chambers SV24-7 Vending

Dr Mhairi Towler Vivomotion

Gillian Crawford Lily Blanche (WINNER)

Net-Zero Business of the Year, sponsored by Scottish Enterprise

Jo Chidley Beauty Kitchen UK Ltd (WINNER)

Jeanette Forbes Blue Gentoo Ltd

Jane Stewart Topolytics

Kristen Hunter Whisky Frames Ltd

Collaborative Champion

Karen Somerville Angels’ Share Glass

Kirsteen Stewart Kirsteen Stewart Design

Christine Esson Scottish Business Network

Sarah Heward The Real Food Café, Tyndrum (WINNER)

Purpose-Led Business of the Year

Kerry Anderson Brave Strong Beautiful (HIGHLY COMMENDED)

Kirsty Thomson Circle Scotland CIC (The Circle)

Kirsty Lunn Molke Ltd

Pheona Matovu Radiant and Brighter Community Interest Company (WINNER)

Rowan Morrison Rationale

Susan Cohen The Wee Book Company

Lifetime Achievement Award

Evelyn McDonald Scottish Edge





bottom of page